(GED Social Studies/Civics And Government; Lesson 3) – Levels And Branches Of Government

Please Share


Under the constitution of U.S. power are being shared between the national and state levels. The division of power between the federal and the state allows individual state to protect the right of their citizens which also pave way for national government to enforce certain rights on citizen. Some of the right the constitution gives to both state and federal are; state are given the power to establish schools, federal are given the power to declare war, and both are allow to levy taxes and set up court systems.

The United States federal governments do have three branches of government which are executive, legislative and judicial.

  • Executive branch enforces the nation’s laws and provides national leadership, setting goals and policies they include the president and various advisors (president’s cabinet) and government department.
  • Legislative branch create law that all citizens must follow it comprises of two houses of government, which are the senate and the house of representative.
  • The judicial branch decides disputes related to laws, including the U.S. constitution they are made up of the federal court system which includes the Supreme Court.

The constitution limits the power of each branch of the federal government which makes branch have separate powers. Each branch can make decision that affect the other branch in a system known as checks and balance. And judges can review laws and pronounced them unconstitutional.


  1. Powers are being shared by?

A. States level

B. Federal and states level

C. Legislative

D. Federal

Ans= B

2. From the passage, what power do the states have?

A. Power to create laws

B. Power to enforce right

C. Power to establish schools

D. Power to elect

Ans= C

3. Which among the following enforces law?

A. The Judicial branch

B. The legislature branch

C. The executive branch

D. The state

Ans= C