(GED Science/Earth And Space Science; lesson 4)- Earth in the solar system

Please Share

Earth in the solar system

The solar system consists of the sun, star, the planets and their satellites. The sun is a source of light to all the solar system. In the solar system, all the celestial bodies revolves around it.

There are eight planets of the solar system which include:

  1. Mercury
  2. Venus
  3. Earth
  4. Mars
  5. Jupiter
  6. Saturn
  7. Uranus
  8. Neptune

This planet are being divided into two parts as a result of its closeness to the sun.

Inner planets e.g. Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars.

Outer planets e.g. Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.

Source: www.pixabay.com 

The earth is among the eight planets mentioned above. The earth surface contains about 70% of water. It consists of most livingthings, and the earth has a satellite known as the moon. The moon as no atmosphere, but contains some surface ice, which was discovered in 1998.

The moon does revolves around the earth, once every 27 days and appears to go through series of phases. The cycle of phases takes approximately 29days. The moon is known as the only celestial body visited by astronauts.

Source: www.pexels.com 


1. ….. consists of the sun, star and the planets?

  1. Asteroids
  2. Solar system
  3. Astronauts
  4. Solar Phases

Ans= B

2. The sun is surrounded by……..

  1. Astronauts
  2. Moon
  3. Star 
  4. Celestial bodies

Ans= D

3. Outer planets consists of which one of the following?

  1. Sun 
  2. Neptune
  3. Earth
  4. Mercury

Ans= B

4. The earth is covered by……?

  1. Rocky satellite
  2. Rocky moon
  3. Water
  4. Ice

Ans= C

5. The …….. revolves around the earth

  1. Moon
  2. Satellite
  3. Water
  4. Sun

Ans= A